The End

The parking garage lights are flickering red.

Their humming buzz echoes in the hollow darkness

but still, I know, I’m not alone.

Somewhere in the shadows, he waits to make his move.

I can’t see him, but I can feel him…

his energy pulsing through the emptiness.

So I wait, like a cornered animal.

Wait, for the inevitable end of the predator catching its prey.

My eyes catch the movement of a moth.

I watch as it gravitates towards the light, falling to its untimely death.

Cold-clammy hands wrap around my young-delicate throat.

The humming stops…

and I am plunged into endless silence.

© J.G.

Leave a Reply

