Ghost Asylum

My pain is a silence held deep within my maddened soul…

never allowed to escape this hell.


 

What’s behind that door? I can’t remember… I don’t want to remember. I squeeze my hands over my ears until the pain makes them ring like a broken radio.

No matter how hard I squeeze, I can’t block them out. Them. Them. All of them. Screaming and howling like tortured animals… but perhaps they’ve become just that.

Trapped and locked away from the world. It’s all just wasted tears, though. No one cares now. No one.

It’s a crime to be different. It’s a crime to see things, and hear things, and be things that others are not. Lock them away. Lock them, chain them, cage them until the behave. It only makes it worse.

The walls are stark white, yet they crawl with faces. Evil horrific faces. Taunting me. Telling me things I don’t want the know. Reminding me of why I’m here. Why I’m a prisoner here, and in hereeeee…. My mind.

Sometimes, it works and all I can think about is the cruelty of my existence. But other times I see decay.

The faces on the walls fade as the paint rips away and the ceiling crumbles down like chalky rain. I can see beyond the door now… but it’s all different. Empty and dark, instead of bright and sterile.

The screaming stops but I hear voices. Booming accusatory voices. “Are you a patient?! Why are you still here? Why Why Why?!!”Β 

I don’t understand what they want. Why they ask me these things. I can’t leave. I can’t. Don’t they understand?

I’m damned to rot here. Forever rotting, as I return to the dust from which I came. My pain is a silence held deep within my maddened soul… never allowed to escape this hell.

Β© J.G.

Leave a Reply

